Volleyball Canada senior men’s national training camp opens Monday in Gatineau, Que.

OTTAWA – Volleyball Canada will hold its senior men’s national training camp this Monday to Thursday (May 10-13) in Gatineau, Que.

There are 45 athletes who will participate in the camp. Canadian national team coach Glenn Hoag says this week’s camp is primarily an identification camp.

“The objective is to identify players not only for this season but also for the future as well,” Hoag said.  “We will gather physical and technical information on these players, some of them will be junior or early in their university careers.  It’s the kind of cross Canadasweep that needs to be done and will be very beneficial to our program.”

The players kick off the camp Monday with testing in the morning followed by some skills evaluation in the afternoon.  The following three days players will be evaluated on different offensive and defensive facets of the game.

The actual senior A team, the majority of whom played professionally in Europe over the winter are starting to trickle into Gatineau where the national team is based.  Some could attend this week’s camp, depending on when their pro season ended.

It’s a busy year for the senior A squad culminating with the world championship in September in Italy.  Other competitions include the Pan Am Cup later this month in Puerto Rico, an Australian tour in June and a four-match series against Cuba in Canadian cities in August. 

Hoag himself just recently returned from overeas where he led Bled ACH in Slovenia to a fourth place finish in the Champions League in Europe, the best ever finish for the squad.  His national team assistant is Vincent Pichette of Gatineau.

Here are the players participating the Canadian national volleyball team selection camp May 10-13 in Gatineau, Que (sorted by province)

Alberta: Graham Vigrass, Calgary; Jeremy Wilcox, Calgary; Blair Bann, Edmonton; Ciaran McGovern, Grande Prairie; Tim Gourlay, Grande Prairie; Steve Gotch, Okotoks; Jay Blankeneau, Sherwood Park

British Columbia; Gord Perrin, Creston; Jason Dakin, Courtenay; Jared Krause, Langley; Joe Cordonier, Vancouver; John Galloway, Victoria; Josh Howatson, Victoria; Marc Howatson, Victoria; Rudy Verhoeff, Victoria;

Manitoba: Andrew Town, Winnipeg; Chris Voth, Winnipeg; Daniel Lother, Winnipeg; Jason DeRocco, Winnipeg; Justin Duff, Winnipeg; Michael DeRocco, Winnipeg.

New Brunswick: Davin St-Pierre, Dieppe; Mathieu McLaughlin, Tilley Road.

Newfoundland and Labrador: Max Burt, Gander.

Ontario: Joren Zeeman, Cambridge; Tyler Santoni, Kingston; Eric Simon, London; Sander Ratsep, London; Terrell Bramwell, Mississauga; Bryan Fautley, Oakville; Jeremie Lortie, Orleans; Thierry Lavigne, Rockland; Josh Lichty, St. Catharines; Michael Amoroso, Toronto; Jeremy Groenveld, Welland; Jonathan Sloane, Winchester.

Quebec: Micael Girard, Lac-St-Jean; Fred Desbiens, La Malbaie; Pierre-Alexis Lapoints, La Malbaie; Karl DeGrandPré, Pierreville; Tommy Bélisle, Pierreville; Louis-Pierre Mainville, Notre-Dame-de-L’Isle; Olivier Faucher, Plessisville; Christopher Hoag, Sherbrooke; Benoit Raymond, Vaudreuil.