Men's national B team selected

 OTTAWA (May 16, 2012)– Volleyball Canada announced its 21-member national B team for the 2012 season.

The selections were made following a 44-player camp which was held at the National Training Centre in Gatineau, Que., from May 12 to 15. 

The team was chosen primarily for the Pan Am Cup set for July 7-15 in the Dominican Republic.  The players selected to the team will continue to train in Gatineau from May 16- to July 6.

Returnees from last year’s squad which helped Canada to a fourth place finish at the World University Games are Ciaran McGovern of Grande Prairie, Alta., (in photo) Jay Blankeneau of Calgary, Jacob Kilpatrick of St. John, N.B., Chris Voth of Winnipeg, Sander Ratsep of London, Ont., and Blair Bann of Edmonton.

Graduating from the 2011 national junior team which placed 11th at the world junior championships are Tommy Belisle of Pierreville, Que., Lucas VanBerkel of Edmonton and Braden McLean of Birch Hills, Sask.

A couple of great Canadian family volleyball traditions are also being continued on the team with Chris Hoag of Sherbrooke, Que., the son of men’s national team head coach Glenn Hoag and Dane Pischke of Winnipeg, son of Garth Pischke the legendary head coach of the University of Manitoba Bisons.


Other team members are: Jason DeRocco of Winnipeg, Kevin Miller of Brandon, Man., Reid Halpeny of Grand Bend, Ont., Andre Brown and Terrel Bramwell of Mississauga, Ont., Nate Speijer of Penticton, B.C., Devon Parkinson of Victoria, Steven Marshall of Abbotsford, B.C., Daniel JansenVanDoom of Langley, B.C., and Max Burt of Gander, N.L.

The selection and training camps are held under the supervision of National B Team head coach Larry McKay of Winnipeg.

The 21 players selected to Canada’s National B men’s volleyball team (club and hometown)


Lucas Van Berkel, Trinity Western University, Edmonton

Ciaran McGovern, National Training Centre, Grande Prairie

Jay Blankeneau, University of Calgary, Calgary

Blair Bann, National Training Centre, Edmonton


British Columbia

Nate Speijer, UBC Okanagan, Penticton

Devon Parkinson, National Training Centre, Victoria

Steven Marshall, Trinity Western University, Abbotsford

Daniel JansenVanDoom, Trinity Western University, Langley



Chris Voth, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg

Jason DeRocco, Kifissia SC Athens, Winnipeg

Dane Pischke, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg

Kevin Miller, National Training Centre, Brandon


New Brunswick

Jacob Kilpatrick, National Training Centre, St. John


Newfoundland and Labrador

Max Burt, National Training Centre, Gander



Sander Ratsep, National Training Centre, London

Reid Halpeny, National Training Centre, Grand Bend

Andre Brown, Humber College, Mississauga

Terrel Bramwell, Humber College, Mississauga



Chris Hoag, University of Calgary, Sherbrooke

Tommy Belisle, Université Laval, Pierreville



Braden McLean, University of Saskatchewan, Birch Hills


For more information:


Sophie Gadoury

Men's Developmental National Teams Coordinator

Coordonnatrice des Programmes Masculins Nationaux de Développement