Junior Selection Camp May 2-7 in Gatineau

 OTTAWA (April 24, 2013) – Forty players have been invited to the men’s national junior team selection camp set for May 2-7 at the National Training Centre in Gatineau, Que.

Competition for the spots is expected to be fierce with a berth on the U21 Canadian team for the FIVB World Junior Championships on the line. The junior worlds are August 22 to September 1 in Ankara and Izmir, Turkey.

The camp will be overseen by head coach Dave Preston of Chatham, Ont., and his assistants Brad Poplawski of Edmonton and Nathan Janzen Hamilton.

Once the spots are decided, the team will train in Gatineau from June 24 to July 4 and continue its training in Hamilton until July 12. The team will compete at an important international event prior the worlds, the U21 Pan Am Cup July 12-20 in Costa Rica. Training resumes in Hamilton on July 25 and the team departs for Turkey August 15.

Players invited to Junior Team Canada Selection Camp May 2-7 in Gatineau, Que. (sorted by province):

Alberta (11): Brett Walsh, Calgary; Milan Nikkic, Calgary; Brooke Sedore, Grande Prairie; Ryley Barnes, St. Paul; Mackenzie McNicol, Calgary; Jordan Parkin, Calgary; Scott Brunet, Calgary; John Goranson, Red Deer; Arran Chambers, Edmonton; Mathew Silver, Calgary; Jeremy Davies, Calgary.

British Columbia (5): Adam Chaplin, Mission; Brad Gunter, Courtenay; Alex Russell, Surrey; Nicholas Balazs, Prince George; Tyler Koslowsky, Abbotsford.

Manitoba (5): Josh McKay, Winnipeg; Casey Schouten, Winnipeg; Jarrid Ireland, Winnipeg; Kenny Rooney, Winnipeg; Riley Delavau, Winnipeg.

New Brunswick (1): Mathieu Losier, Fredericton.

Ontario (13): Josh Kirkham, Cambridge; Andrew Kocur, Toronto; Stephen Maar, Aurora; Dan Groenveld, Welland; Alexander Dawson, Toronto; Bruno Lortie, Ottawa; Robert Wojcik, Whitby; Jayson McCarthy, Oshawa; Tyler Scheerhoorn, Belleville; Alex Elliott, Cobourg; Danny Demyanenko, Toronto; Reed May, Scarborough; Erich Wooley, New Dundee.

Quebec (4) : Gabriel Chancy, Montreal; Jean-Philippe Desjardins, Gatineau; Hugo Léger, St-Eustache; Laurent Mailhot, Montreal.

Saskatchewan (1): Andrew Nelson, Regina.

For more information:

Sophie Gadoury

Men's Developmental National Teams Coordinator

Coordonnatrice des Programmes Masculins Nationaux de Développement