Canadian teams determined for qualification round at Quebec Open Jeep tournament

QUEBEC CITY – The four Canadian teams for the men’s and women’s qualifying rounds were determined Tuesday as action got underway at the $380,000 Quebec Open Jeep beach volleyball tournament. The competition is the only Canadian stop on the FIVB World Tour Circuit.

In the men’s country quota competition, Simon Fecteau-Boutin of Lévis, Que., and Cameron Wheelan of Barrie, Ont.; Maverick Hatch of Comox, B.C., and Sam Schachter of Toronto; Andrew Hinchey of Oshawa, Ont., and Ryan Vandenburg of Toronto and Felipe Humana-Paredes and Grant O’Gorman, both of Toronto, of all won their matches to advance to Wednesday’s qualifying draw.

Fecteau-Boutin and Wheelan are in their first season as partners. ‘’We got lucky with the draw,’’ said Fecteau-Boutin. ‘’The two young players we played against have a lot of talent but we capitalized on their inexperience. Cameron and I go more to the attack. We clicked right away and we get along great.’’

In women’s country quota competition, the four Canadian pairs advancing are Jaime Broder of Victoria and Ashley Voth of Winnipeg; Victoria Altomare and Melissa Humana-Paredes, both of Toronto; Rebecca Billings of Ottawa and Kristina Vlcek of Toronto and Victoria Cowley and Alexandra Mingay, both of Toronto.

The single elimination qualification tournaments on Wednesday will determine the final eight spots in the 32-team double elimination main draws which will be held on Thursday through Sunday. The semifinals will conclude play on Saturday and medal matches will be played Sunday afternoon with $30,000 first-place prizes on the line.

The venue for the open tournament is I’Externat St-Jean Berchmans and Seminaire des Peres Maristes.

Canadians will have a very strong presence in the event with three already pre-seeded into the main draw.

Canada’s men’s main draw teams are Christian Redmann of Toronto and Ben Saxton of Calgary;Josh Binstock and Richard Van Huizen both of Toronto and Martin Reader of Comox, B.C., and Chaim Schalk of Red Deer, Alta.

Canada’s women’s main draw teams are Marie-Andree Lessard of Ville LaSalle, Que., and Annie Martin of Sherbrooke, Que.; Heather Bansley and Elizabeth Maloney both of Toronto and Kacie MacTavish of Sharon, Ont., and Julie Rodrigue of Quebec City.

The powerful international field will include Americans Phil Dalhausser and Todd Rogers the 2008 Olympic champions and 2010 World Tour champions.

The Tour has been held in Canada in seven previous occasions (three in Toronto and four in Montreal). For ticket info visit:


The full draw and schedule is available at


More information: and