Canada in medal hunt at NORCECA Men’s Juniors volleyball championsips August 16-21 in Gatineau, Que.

GATINEAU, Que. – Canada will be vying for a top-three finish at the 2010 NORCECA Junior Men’s Volleyball Championship August 16-21 at the Centre Sportif in Gatineau, Que. The tournament features 11 countries including world powerhouses Cuba, the U.S., and the Dominican Republic in the biggest international volleyball event of the year in Canada.

The event will not only determine the newest continental champion and offer valuable world ranking points, but will also offer three berths to the 2011 FIVB World Junior Championships scheduled to take place in Brazil.

The teams are divided into three pools: Pool A consists of Cuba, Puerto Rico, Honduras and St. Lucia. Pool B comprises USA, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago and Martinique and Pool C is formed by Canada, Dominican Republic and Guatemala.

Canada is idle on the first day of matches August 16. The Canadians play their round robin matches on Tuesday August 17 vs Guatemala and Wednesday August 18 vs the Dominican. Both matches are at 8 p.m. (local time). The quarterfinals are on Thursday, semis on Friday and medal matches on Saturday.

The two pool winners with highest points-ratio at the end of the preliminary round will advance directly to the semifinals. The third pool winners will join the second placed teams in the quarterfinals.

Cuba has won the last three editions of the competition and four overall in the six-year history of the continental event. Canada won in the other two occasions. Canada has reached the podium at the last two editions of the tournament. In 2008, the Canadians won silver and in 2006 the bronze. 

On the Canadian team there are three players from the University of Alberta Golden Bears roster: Matthew McCreary of Calgary and Justin Olmstead and Tristan Aubry, both of Edmonton. Two more Albertans are on the squad from Trinity Western University in Langley, B.C.: Branden Schmidt of Winton, Alta., and Lukas Van Berkel of Edmonton.

B.C., players on the squad are Colin Carson of Prince George, Ian Perry of Abbotsford and Christopher Howe of Salt Spring Islands

The other team members are: Bryan Fraser of Saskatoon, Matthew Schriemer of Winnipeg, Nicholas Hoag of Sherbrooke, Tommy Bélisle of Quebec City and Kevin Stevens and Tyler Sanders, both of Hamilton. Daniel Moreau of Sherbrooke is the alternate.

The head coach is Greg Barthel who fulfills the same duties with the University of Regina Cougars and his assistant former national team star Gino Brousseau of Quebec City.


Tickets are now on sale though Capital Tickets. You can purchase your tickets online at, at 1-877-788-FANS or at any Capital Tickets outlet location. The ticket prices are $12 for a day, $44 for the week and $9.75 for groups of 10 people or more. *service charges applicable

Tournament schedule:

Monday, August 16
11:00 Puerto Rico vs vs St. Lucia
13:00 Mexico  vs  Martinique
15:00 USA vs Trinidad & Tobago
18:00 Dominican Rep. vs  Guatemala
19:15 Opening ceremonies
20:00 Cuba vs Honduras

Tuesday, August 17
11:00 Mexico vs Trinidad & Tobago
13:00 Cuba vs St. Lucia
15:00 Puerto Rico vs Honduras
18:00 USA vs Martinique
20:00 Canada vs Guatemala

Wednesday, August 18
11:00 Honduras vs St. Lucia
13:00 Trinidad & Tobago vs Martinique
15:00 USA vs Mexico
18:00 Cuba vs Puerto Rico
20:00 Canada vs. Dominican Rep.

Thursday, August 19
13:00 Consolation Quarter Final
15:00 Consolation Quarter Final
18:00 Quarter Final
20:00 Quarter Final

Friday, August 20
13:00 9th place match
15:00 7th place match
18:00 Semifinal
20:00 Semifinal

Saturday, August 21
13:00 10th place match
15 :00 5th place match
18:00 Bronze medal match
20:00 Gold medal match
20:00 Gold medal match

Team Canada roster

Players: Matthew McCreary, Calgary; Justin Olmstead, Edmonton; Tristan Aubry, Edmonton; Branden Schmidt, Winton, Alta., Lukas Van Berkel, Edmonton; Colin Carson, Prince George, B.C.; Ian Perry, Abbotsford, Christopher Howe, Salt Spring Islands; Bryan Fraser, Saskatoon; Matthew Schriemer, Winnipeg; Nicholas Hoag, Sherbrooke; Tommy Bélisle, Quebec City; Kevin Stevens, Hamilton; Tyler Sanders, Hamilton.

Head coach: Greg Barthel, Regina

Assistant coach: Gino Brousseau, Quebec City

Team manager Georges Laplante, Montreal

Athletic therapist: Brad Poplawski, Edmonton

Web info:


Volleyball Canada: