Canada loses in five sets to Argentina to open men’s Pan Am Cup

 SANTO DOMINGO (July 9, 2012) – Canada’s national B team opened the eight-country men’s volleyball Pan Am Cup tournament on Monday with a five-set loss to Argentina 25-20, 18-25, 23-25, 25-19, 16-14.

Dane Pischke of Winnipeg led the Canadian attack with 22 points – 17 on kills, three on blocks and two service aces.  Steve Marshall of Abbotsford, B.C., added 19, Max Burt of Gander, N.L., 13 and Lucas Van Berkel of Edmonton 11.

Canada is in Group A with Argentina, the Dominican Republic and Trinidad and Tobago.  Group B teams are the U.S., Brazil, Mexico and Venezuela

The Canadians continue round robin play July 10 against the Dominican and July 11 versus Trinidad and Tobago.  The first place team in each group gets a bye to the semifinals while second and third advance to the quarterfinals.

The quarterfinals are July 12, the semis July 13 and the medal matches July 14.

At last year’s Pan Am Cup in Gatineau, Que., Canada won the bronze medal while Brazil defeated the U.S., for gold.


Canadian team for the Pan American Cup men’s volleyball tournament July 9-14 in Santo Domingo, the Dominican Republic (name, school or club, hometown)



Lucas Van Berkel, Trinity Western University, Edmonton

Ciaran McGovern, National Training Centre, Grande Prairie

Jay Blankeneau, University of Calgary, Calgary

Blair Bann, National Training Centre, Edmonton


British Columbia

Steven Marshall, Trinity Western University, Abbotsford



Dane Pischke, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg


New Brunswick

Jacob Kilpatrick, National Training Centre, St. John


Newfoundland and Labrador

Max Burt, National Training Centre, Gander



Sander Ratsep, National Training Centre, London

Reid Halpeny, National Training Centre, Grand Bend



Chris Hoag, University of Calgary, Sherbrooke



Braden McLean, University of Saskatchewan, Birch Hills




Head coach: Lawrence McKay


Assistant coach: Stephen Michael Leknois assistant-coach


Assistant coach: Tilen Kozamernik


Athletic therapist: Luc Campbell


Team manager: Sophie Gadoury