Alberta and Ontario win NTCC titles

(July 21, 2013) Alberta and Ontario were crowned the men’s and women’s champions on Sunday at the the National Team Challenge Cup volleyball tournaments which were held in Gatineau, Que. and Winnipeg.


In the men’s tournament in Gatineau, Alberta (pictured with Prime Minister Stephen Harper)  defeated Ontario in the championship match 25-21, 21-25, 25-21, 19-25, 20-18.  British Columbia beat Manitoba for the bronze 15-25, 25-17, 25-23, 25-21.  Quebec beat Nova Scotia for fifth 25-13, 25-18, 25-11.


The tournament MVP was Keith West of Alberta.  The All-Star team members were Adam Anagnostopoulos and Andrew Richards of Ontario, Irvan Brar and Jordan Foot of B.C., Alex Sabourin of Manitoba and Mike Goertz of Alberta.


At the women’s tournament in Winnipeg, Ontario defeated B.C. in the final 25-22, 25-17, 16-25, 21-25, 15-10.  Alberta took the bronze over Manitoba 25-18, 25-27, 25-23, 25-19 while Quebec beat Saskatchewan for fifth 25-21, 25-20, 25-21.


Maicee Sorenssen of Ontario was named the tournament MVP.  All-star team members were Regan Dahl and Cassidy Kinsella of Alberta, Alison McKay and Sara Chase of B.C., and Kristine Yan and Kat Tsiofas of Ontario.


The National Team Challenge Cup is an annual inter-provincial championship featuring the top 18U athletes (women - born in 1995 or later) and 19U athletes (men - born in 1994 or later) from each province.  


Each event is hosted by Canada’s men’s and women’s National Team Centres.  Along with tournament play, players receive training opportunities with Volleyball Canada National Team coaches while the provincial coaches receive professional development opportunities.

Schedules and results can be found on the following link: