2010 Senior Women’s National Team Rosters Announced


Winnipeg, Manitoba – After an intensive Selection Camp held last week at the Team Canada Women's Volleyball Centre in Winnipeg, Volleyball Canada is happy to announce the Senior Women’s Indoor A & B National Team athletes for the 2010 season. This year’s teams are comprised of a combination of young veterans and new athletes possessing potential to lead Canada to success at the 2010 World Championship and qualification to the 2012 Olympic Games in London.


A total of thirty athletes have been selected for either the Senior A or B National Team programs. Those selected to the B Team will train together through to the end of July. Those selected to the Senior A Team will train throughout the summer and fall with the main focus being preparation for and success at the 2010 World Championship this fall in Japan. The first competition for the Senior Women’s A Team will be the annual Pan Am Cup in Baja California, Mexico from June 16-27.  Plans are also currently being made for a tour of Europe for matches and training in September, and then the hosting an exhibition series versus Cuba in early October in Winnipeg before traveling to the 2010 FIVB World Championship in Japan later that month.


The Senior A Team will be lead by Head Coach Arnd Ludwig, along with newly appointed Assistant Coach Scott Koskie. Ken Bentley from the University of Manitoba has recently been named the Head Coach for the B Team training group, and he will be supported over the summer by Lee Carter from Brandon University, and Alain Pelletier from Université Laval.


"We had a very good selection camp," stated Head Coach Arnd Ludwig. "The girls arrived in good shape and the quality of the camp was a lot higher than last year. There was great competition in each position and we had to make some tough decisions. All athletes who are here right now have the potential to play for the National Team, if it is right now or some time in the next years. I am looking forward to this summer working with a great group of athletes and with a great support team around the athletes."


Athletes selected to 2010 Canadian Women’s National Team are:


A Team


Lauren O'Reilly – Langley, BC

Setter A Team

Carla Bradstock – Richmond, BC

Setter A Team

Brittany Page – Vernon, BC Right Side A Team

Sarah Pavan – Kitchener, ON Right Side A Team

Tammy Mahon – Holland, MB Left Side A Team

Tiffany Dodds – Lucky Lake, SK

Left Side A Team

Tonya Mokelki – Goodwater, SK

Left Side A Team

Jennifer Hinze – Vancouver, BC

Middle A Team

Marisa Field – Kelowna, BC Middle A Team

Tasha Holness – Calgary, AB Middle A Team

Tricia Mayba – Winnipeg, MB Middle A Team


A/B Team


Ashley Voth – Winnipeg, MB Left Side A/B Team

Kyla Richey – Roberts Creek, BC

Left Side A/B Team

Julie Young – Red Deer, AB Libero A/B Team

Janie Guimond – BécancourQC

Libero A/B Team

Claire Hanna – Vancouver, BC Libero A/B Team


B Team


Samantha Loewen – Winnipeg, MB

Setter B Team

Kelci French – Calgary, AB Setter B Team

Jaclyn Ellis – Mississauga, ON

Setter B Team

Marie-Pier Murray Methot – Montreal, QC

Right Side B Team

Colette Meek – Sherwood Park, AB

Right Side B Team

Krista Zubick – St. Albert, AB

Right Side B Team

Nadine Alphonse – Laval, QC Middle B Team

Jamie Thibeault – Sylvan Lake, AB

Middle B Team

Emillie Toone – Edmonton, AB Middle B Team

Beth Clark – Regina, SK Middle B Team

Sofie Hanna Schlagintweit – Abbotsford, BC Left Side B Team

Dana Cranston – Fort St. John, BC

Left Side B Team

Tabi Love – Dauphin, MB Left Side B Team



More information:

John Blacher

Team Canada Volleyball Centre - Winnipeg

Ph: 204-474-7210

Mobile: 204-479-3612

email: jblacher@volleyball.ca